The 1821 society

1821 marks the year that Greece began the campaign to gain its independence from the Ottoman Empire. With help from Greeks in the Diaspora and Philhellenes, that independence was achieved.
The 1821 Society has been founded by The Hellenic Initiative as a new “Philiki Eteria” (the secret society founded in 1814 by Diaspora Greeks to fight for Greek Independence). As modern- day Diaspora Greeks, we are as committed to that freedom for Greece as our ancestors ever were. Today, that cause means helping Greece rebuild its economy, reversing the brain drain, and addressing Greece’s humanitarian needs. We are also committed to passing down the fullness of our Greek legacy to the coming generations, by connecting global Hellenism through the 1821 Society. By joining, you honor the memory of your ancestors, and help the next generation of Greeks who are committed to finding solutions.
Members’ generous annual contributions help sustain organizations and NGOs in Greece working for the Greek people and fund programs throughout the calendar year. Members also have access to special programs and functions of The Hellenic Initiative, and it is hoped will renew their commitment to the Society on an annual basis. The giving levels for the 1821 Society are listed below.

The Hellenic Initiative exists to secure Greek civilization and culture and pass them down to the next, and future, generations.

Your philanthropia enables support for the people of Greece in need and provides a vital legacy link to the heritage that we all want for our children.

Thank you for empowering THI to keep the flame alive.

1821 Society members


President Bill Clinton
Andrew N. Liveris
George P. Stamas
Nicholas W. Alexos
Drake Behrakis
Dean Dakolias
George A. David
William P. Doucas
John D. Georges
Muhtar Kent
John S. Koudounis
Nikos Koumettis
George M. Logothetis
Dennis Mehiel
John Pappajohn
Michael Psaros
Marianna V. Vardinoyannis
Harry Wilson
Peter Barris
George Anderson
Pericles Navab
Theane Evangelis
Maria Allwin
John P. Calamos, Sr.
Aris Candris
John Catsimatidis
Achilles Constantakopoulos
Jeremy Downward
George Frazis
Dimitris Georgakopoulos
Constantine Karides
Amb. Eleni Kounalakis
Ted Leonsis
George Marcus
Corinne Mentzelopoulos
C. Dean Metropoulos
Nick Mitaros
Pericles Navab
James Neary
Nicholas G. Pappas
Caterina Papoulias-Sakellaris
Nikos Stathopoulos
George Svokos
George Tsunis







The Lord Byron Circle

The Lord Byron Circle, named for history’s greatest Philhellene, is led by Board members of THI. It is a unique opportunity to interact with some of the most influential and innovative members of our global Diaspora community. In addition to all 1821 Society Experiences, Lord Byron Circle members are invited to participate in regional fundraising dinners globally as well as other bespoke experiences.

1821 Society Experiences: Events, Tours, Visits

Ypsilanti, named for the greatest general in Greece’s War of Independence, and Lord Byron members will have access to unique opportunities in Greece created by THI. These may include special events and visits such as bespoke tours to the Acropolis, the Ancient Agora, the Benaki Museum, the National Observatory of Athens, and the Gennadius Library and other visits throughout the Hellenic Diaspora globally.

U.S. Residents: The Hellenic Initiative is recognized by the IRS as a not for profit 501c3 charitable organization. Your donation to The Hellenic Initiative is tax deductible to the full extent of the US law.

UK residents reg IRS: The Hellenic Initiative (UK) is a charity registered in England and Wales (no: 1196224).

Click here for U.K. Residents

If you are based in Canada, please click here

Problems viewing the Donate form above, click here